Britt Daniel – The Most Underrated Songwriter Around

by anti-folk hero

“Its so easy to say you don’t care, its so easy to say you don’t need it,” says Britt Daniel, lead singer of Spoon, but I would have to say that you all should care about Britt. He and his band Spoon have been putting out some of the most exciting rock music in the past 10 years and yet just about nobody has ever even heard of Spoon. Well, I for one am sick of that. This band can knock down and kick the shit out of your average indie band, though I think they’d be too modest to say that themselves.

Spoon 1

I remember my first Spoon show. I was obsessed with “Girls Can Tell,” their third release. It was my second year in college. I got out of class at 6:30; I went to school in Santa Cruz and the show was in San Francisco, an hour and a half away, and I had no one to go with. Over the phone, I convinced my friend Kevin to come with me. We showed up at a little bar called Slim’s, where I used my fake ID (I was 20) that said my name was “Richard D. James” to get in. We drank Pabst on tap and then fought our way to the front of the crowd to see Spoon perform. They were ON that night, as they electrified a packed house through most of “Girls Can Tell” and a good deal of “A Series of Sneaks.” For an encore, Britt Daniel even came out with an acoustic guitar and played “The Agony of Lafitte,” a song which he wrote as a gypsy curse for an evil record executive he once knew. The whole evening was so fun and exciting that Spoon immediately moved into my own personal hall of fame. Since then, I’ve seen them at the “All Tomorrow’s Parties” concert, where they played on the stationary cruise ship slash hotel, the Queen Mary. I’ve seen them headline at the Wiltern in LA and even up at the Fillmore in San Francisco.

So you’re probably saying, so what, why should I care? Well, listen to this song and see what you think.

JONATHON FISK

maybe you remember maybe you’re locked away
maybe we’ll meet again some better day some better life

mmmm Jonathon Fisk speaks with his fists
can’t let me walk home on my own
and just like a knife down on my life
so many ways to set me right

it’s such a long way home
it’s how the story goes
and it’s like atom bombs and blunt razors
atom bomb sand blunt razors

Jonathon then says it’s a sin
but he don’t think twice cause to him
religion don’t mean a thing
it’s just another way to be right wring
just like a knife down on my life
so many ways to set it right
that’s how it goes that’s how the story goes

it’s such a long way home
you’re too hold to understand
cause I just want to get home now
I just want to get home now

Jonathon’s right down on my life
so many ways to set me right
on the long walk home
that’s how the story goes
and Jonathon Fish always a risk
tells me he counts my teeth every night
I want to get them all back now
I want to get them all back now
and I want to turn him around

This song is Britt singing about a bully he knew in high school (or some kind of school). I read in an interview with Britt that Jonathan Fisk comes to their shows now. What a way to win over your enemies!

Britt recently worked on the soundtrack for the movie “Stranger than Fiction” with Brian Reitzell. Several classic Spoon songs were used and the soundtrack even included a new spoon song, “The Book I Write,” which I haven’t been able to get out of my head for days now. Spoon’s music really connected with me when I was first exploring indie rock music. Girls Can Tell became a soundtrack for my early college days and we spent many evenings listening to Spoon and Yo La Tengo records in the dorms. While my fellow Santa Cruz buddies were jamming to Zeppelin, I was figuring out how to play both the piano and guitar part of “Anything You Want” simultaneously on guitar. I even have a picture I snapped of myself with Britt Daniel from “All Tomorrow’s Parties.” He didn’t seem that thrilled to meet me. That’s ok. I still think he’s a legend.

Spoon 2

6 Comments

Filed under a series of sneaks, analysis, austin, barn, barn stormer, barnstormer, britt, britt daniel, creative, daniel, fillmore, funny, gimme fiction, girls can tell, guitar, indie, indie rock, intelligent, jonathan fisk, lyrical, lyrics, music, rock, san francisco, series of sneaks, slim's, smart, songwriter, songwriting, spoon, stormer, talent, texas, Uncategorized, young

6 responses to “Britt Daniel – The Most Underrated Songwriter Around

  1. Dave

    Finally Brit gets some due. Why hasn’t spoon taken over indie pop dammit?

  2. hey! nice blog
    i’ll add you to my links 😉

    brit (H)

  3. Brandon

    Dude, That is a hilarious story. To begin, I have heard of Spoon and yes, they do rock!
    Quite underrated- but some of the best bands are underrated.
    I first heard of them after attending a friends show at the Whiskey. She gave me a ride to the after party and was playing Spoon in her car. I learned of Spoon and Cibo Matto in the same night.

    I’ve been to Slim’s many times since moving up here. It’s a great venue, reminds me of the Whiskey a go-go.- with the fuckin’ polls in the middle!
    You had a fake with the name Richard D. James, that’s great! and no one bartender/ bouncer picked up on that! Very clever.

    ~Taco-guitar makes me hungry for music

  4. Thanks for the note, Brandon. That Spoon show was just one of the many awesome times I had in San Francisco. I would say I had a pretty awesome college experience. I’d love to come up for a visit some time. The next three day weekend maybe? I’d be happy to come visit. It might have to wait until summer though. Are you going to stay there when you finish school, or have you already finished?

  5. terri

    I think a lot more people now, in 2007, know of Spoon, so they really aren’t all that underappreciated nowadays. A lot of people are waiting to see what their next album is all about. A lot of people are touched by their music & hold them near & dear to their hearts. They got me back into music, specifically indie recording artists, just like they did for the writer here & I love them for that!

  6. Проектирование. Куплю сухих смесей
    Требуется каменщик
    http://build.su/index.php?s=60fcda64a4dddd6d3f1ebbd9a9e5500d&act=SF&f=341

Leave a Reply

